Posted in Book Tags

The Fifty Bookish Questions Book Tag

I decided to do this book tag, so that you, the readers, can learn a bit more about me, and my reading likes and dislikes.  Read this tag over at Ali@Arctic Books, and enjoyed reading her take, and answers.  Hope you enjoy this…


Question 1:  What was the last book you read?

I know I am late to this series, way late…  But, I was reading, at the time I posted this, City of Bones by Cassandra Clare.

Question 2:  Was it a good one?

Definitely sorry that I didn’t read this sooner, which is kinda obvious…

Question 3:  What made it good?

Everything, the location, hidden world within New York, the writing, the character building and the amazing plot, and sub-plots.

Question 4:  Would you recommend it to other people?

For sure, for those who, like me, was slow in picking this series up.

Question 5:  How often do you read?

As often as I possibly can.  If I could I would make a lifetime career out of reading and reviewing.

Question 6:  Do you like to read?

Stupid question.  Of course!!

Question 7:  What was the last bad book you read?

That would be The Voices by F.R. Tallis.

Question 8:  What made you dislike it?

Dunno why, but I just could not get into this book.  The history and setting was good, however, it just seemed like the plot took forever to develop.

Question 9:  Do you wish to be a writer?

Yes, I would love to become a writer.  I am slowly learning as much as I possibly can so that I can start writing actively next year.

Question 10:  Has any book ever influenced you greatly?

Wow, this is a difficult question.  Books can influence me in so many ways.  Some can make me think, some make me want to travel, some make me want to find love, some teach me about sacrifice and life.  Guess the book that stuck with me was 14 Reasons Why by Jay Asher, due to personal family related reasons.

Question 11:  Do you read fan fiction?

No actively, however, if I do come across some writing that seems good, I will take the time to read it.

Question 12:  Do you write fan fiction?

Nope, I do dabble in my own writing, but I’d rather appreciate other people’s writing as is.

Question 13:  What’s your favorite book?

My favorite is actually a trilogy – Josephine Angelini’s debut series, Starcrossed, Dreamless and Goddess.  I loved this series and read all three books in one week.  Could not put them down.

Question 14:  What’s you least favorite book?

The Host by Stephanie Meyer, because it ended, and she did not write a sequel.  I wanted more…

Question 15:  Do you prefer physical books or read on a device (like a kindle)?

I prefer having a physical book in my hand.  I get headaches from reading on kindles and computers.

Question 16:  When did you learn to read?

At age 4/5.

Question 17:  What is your favorite book you had to read in school?

Since I cannot think of any, I guess none.

Question 18:  What is your favorite book series?

The Starcrossed trilogy by Josephine Angelini.

Question 19:  Who is your favorite author?

Don’t think I can choose, there are so many:  Josephine Angelini, P.C. Cast, Cassandra Clare, Kendare Blake…

Question 20:  What is your favorite genre?

Young Adult fantasy, fiction, contemporary, paranormal fantasy, fiction in general…  All YA books, mostly.

Question 21:  Who is your favorite character in a book series?

Zoey Redbird from the Marked series by P.C. and Kristin Cast.  She is an unlikely hero, and it changes her.  Some of the change is perhaps not good but makes for a great read.

Question 22:  Has a book ever transported you somewhere else?

The best books always do, and if the world-building is exceptional, I tend to want to linger in those worlds.  A great example is Hogwarts. 🙂

Question 23:  Which book do you wish had a sequel?

There are so many, but since I noted this one earlier – The Host by Stephanie Meyer.

Question 24:  Which book do you wish didn’t have a sequel?

To me, the Twilight series should have stopped at the third book.  The last book, Breaking Dawn, was out of character and pace with the others.

Question 25:  How long does it take you to read a book?

If the book is good, and the pace is fast, I read them within 2 to 5 days.  Slow-paced books, if the story appeals to me, generally within a week.  I do work full-time, so sometimes time is not on my side…

Question 26: Do you like when books become movies?

Not always, no, if the books are completely changed it irritates me.  I believe that, when you choose to take someone else’s hard work and want to remake it in another medium, you need to respect the original work and fans who love it too.

Question 27:  Which book was ruined by its movie adaptation?

Well, I do think that any movie that completely changes the story originally written as a book, is ruined in my eyes.  I do understand that some things would not translate as well in a movie as in a book, but do not change every little thing, we loved about the book, in the movie.

Question 28:  Which movie has done a book justice?

The Harry Potter series, the Hunger Games series, and Safe Haven, in my opinion.

Question 29:  Do you read newspapers?

No, mainly because there is almost never good news to report.

Question 30:  Do you read magazines?

Yes, I read Woman’s Health.

Question 31:  Do you prefer newspapers to magazines?

No

Question 32:  Do you read while in bed?

Yes, my bed is my happy place.

Question 33:  Do you read while on the toilet?

(Giggling) Why yes, yes I do.  Sometimes, when I just cannot stop reading at that moment, but I gotta go too…

Question 34:  Do you read while in the car?

Yes, I do not get car sick, so I can read whole books on road trips.

Question 35:  Do you read while in the bath?

I have a fear of dropping my book in the bath water, but sometimes I do risk it.

Question 36:  Are you a fast reader?

I am fortunate enough to be a fast reader, yes.

Question 37:  Are you a slow reader?

No

Question 38:  Where is your favorite place to read?

At home, no-0ne can bother me there.

Question 39:  Is it hard for you to concentrate while you read?

If the story is gripping and holds my attention, no.  If I cannot connect with the book, then my mind tends to wander.

Question 40:  Do you need a room to be silent while you read?

No, but if there are loud, piercing noises then I struggle to concentrate on my books.

Question 41:  Who gave you your love for reading?

My mom and grandmother, who instilled my love for reading by being avid readers themselves.

Question 42:  What book is next on your list to read?

The rest of the Mortal Instruments series.

Question 43:  When did you start to read chapter books?

At age 7.

Question 44:  Who is your favorite children’s book author?

I used to read only Afrikaans books when I was young, thus it would be Bettie Naude.

Question 45:  Which author would you most want to interview?

Oh my, this is a hard one.  If I could choose only one person, P.C. Cast.  But I’d also choose Josephine Angelini, because she wrote my most beloved trilogy to date.

Question 46:  Which author do you think you’d be friends with?

I’d love to be friends with Kendare Blake.

Question 47:  What book/books have you reread the most?

The Marked series by P.C. and Kristin Cast.  I had to reread the previous books, each time a new one is published.

Question 48: Which books do you consider ‘classics’?

The Harry Potter series, of course.  Also any books by Jane Austen, and the original Alice in Wonderland series.

Question 49:  Which books do you think should b taught in every school?

Books that teach the young kids some important lessons, make them think and inspire them.

Question 50:  Which books should be banned from all schools?

I would never have any books banned, no matter what the book entails.  The board who chooses the books, that students get in contact with, needs to ensure that the learners do actually learn from the material and that the book is not a sleep-inducer.


Phew, I am done.  Wow, some of these questions made me really think about what the best answer would be.  Hope you enjoy reading this, and learn a bit about my book taste.  Please let me know if you decide to do this book tag.  I would love to read your answers and learn about your ideas too… Also, based on the info above, could you recommend a book you think I might enjoy?  I’ll look into all of the recommendations. 

Love always,

C

Author:

Creativity is my passion, and I have been told that my soul is old, and my body young... Dunno if that is true, but... Anyhoe, gonna start with book reviews, and hauls of the new books I acquire. Maybe if I am better with this blogging thing, I'll expand...

4 thoughts on “The Fifty Bookish Questions Book Tag

  1. Ah, this was awesome! I totally agree, I loved THE HOST by Stephenie Meyer SO much and I’m still heartbroken that there’s no sequel. Fingers crossed that one day our wishes will come true! All your answers are so creative and I feel like I know you better! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

