Posted in Books read

The Misadventures of Catie Bloom

Hi, everyone!  I have finished yet another book (not one on my September TBR list – shocker right?)  This book was sent to me for review.  Here goes…


Book – The Misadventures of Catie Bloom
Author – Brooke Stanton
Series – The Bloom Sisters
Publisher – Coco and Bee
Genre – Romantic Comedy


Rating:
three-stars


Synopsis:

Catie Bloom has it all.

A gorgeous husband, cooking skills to rival Julia Child, a wildly successful column for Simply Chic magazine, and The New York Times just labeled her the younger, hipper Martha Stewart for the next generation.

Except, it’s all a lie.

No husband. She can’t cook. She can’t even organize her underwear drawer.

It all comes to a head when Catie’s boss invites a TV crew into her home to film a homecoming special featuring the latest media darling—panty-dropping Max Euston, a travel journalist whose latest assignment left him wounded, recovering from amnesia, and a national hero. Now Catie needs to learn to cook, fake being a Domestic Goddess, and find a husband in less than a week. And it all needs to seamlessly come together while being filmed on national TV.

A story about realizing who you are through self-deception, love, heartbreak, and, finally, self-discovery.’


I am yet again reminded of why I do not gravitate toward romantic books.  They all feel exactly the same to me.  Maybe I just haven’t been reading the right ones?

Image result

This was a sweet story.  I’d say this is one of those easy reads for summer when you do not want a heavy or complex story.

The plot, like I said, felt very familiar, and I guess this distracted me a lot.  The ending did give me a small flutter of joy, and I’m fairly certain that I might pick up the next book.  I did invest in Catie – hoping she will fall for the right man.  *Sigh*

Image result for this is sweet - words

The writing was good and kept me interested.  There were no visible spelling or grammatical mistakes to distract me from my reading.  This is a great thing.  I hate grammatical mistakes and spelling mistakes are like nails on a chalkboard for me!

Overall, this is a good book.  I would have liked some more plot twists, maybe something entirely unexpected…  I would suggest this for lovers of romantic comedies.  I bet if you like this reading genre, this will be a lot better for you.

Love Always,
C

Author:

Creativity is my passion, and I have been told that my soul is old, and my body young... Dunno if that is true, but... Anyhoe, gonna start with book reviews, and hauls of the new books I acquire. Maybe if I am better with this blogging thing, I'll expand...

4 thoughts on “The Misadventures of Catie Bloom

  1. This is why I try to stick with my own genre. I say the same thing when I review books that aren’t “my type.” I end with “if you are a fan of blank, then you’ll probably like this book,” then usually give it three stars, because at least it was readable.
    I’m into romance, but there needs to be more to it, you know?

    Like

Leave a Reply

