Posted in Writing

My idea for a Novel – What do you think?

I walk up the creaky steps.  Taking a deep breath, I turn the doorknob and push the door open.  Surprisingly, the door swings open silently.  The house inside looks clean, and yet, also abandoned.  Weird…  I take a step inside.  To my left is a spiral staircase.  I turn to my right, walk into what looks like a sitting room, with beautiful, old wooden couches in dark mahogany.  As I run my fingers over the closest couch, expecting a layer of dust, I notice a large painting above a fireplace.  Framed in gold, a petite girl with hair black as night and a full mouth.  Her pale blue eyes are in stark contrast with her dark features.
I keep walking, turning to the next open door, a dining room.  Silver candle holders sit in the middle of the table, wax pooling around the holders.  Seems someone was in a hurry to get out.  I can see a family having dinner here, a mother and father, and, judging from the placing of plates, two children.  Eerily, I turn, thinking I saw something move in the next room.  Walking closer, a chill running up my spine, I realize it was only my reflection in a huge mirror.  Somehow it seems like the mirror is moving with me, forming tiny ripples on its surface.  I move forward, hand outstretched, my fingers almost touching the mirror.  “You don’t want to do that.”, a male voice intrudes on my mind babble.  He grabs my hand and pulls me away from the mirror, close to his chest. He’s tall, is the first thing I think, with big hands.  I look up into eyes like a winter storm, black hair falling slightly over one eye.  I lift my hand, urged to move the hair out of his eyes almost subconsciously before I come to my senses and drop my hand back to my side.  “Would you mind letting go of me?”, I start pulling away, stepping back.   He lets go but steps forward.  “Don’t!”, but before  could even think about it I take one big step back, feeling something cold behind me, at first solid but then it becomes almost like liquid and I fall backward.  He grabs my waist, pulling me toward him and we fall.  I open my eyes, breathing hard.  I’m laying on top of him.  “You’re really crazy, do you know that?”, I guess it wasn’t really a question since he didn’t wait for an answer.  “If you had gone into that mirror I wouldn’t have been able to help you!  No-one who goes in has ever come out again!”, he’s almost yelling now, worry and fear clear in his eyes.  “I’m sorry, I didn’t know.”, I whisper.  I roll off of him, get up and stare at the mirror.
He’s tall, is the first thing I think, with big hands.  I look up into eyes like a winter storm, black hair falling slightly over one eye.  I lift my hand, urged to move the hair out of his eyes almost subconsciously before I come to my senses and drop my hand back to my side.  “Would you mind letting go of me?”, I start pulling away, stepping back.   He lets go but steps forward.  “Don’t!”, but before  could even think about it I take one big step back, feeling something cold behind me, at first solid but then it becomes almost like liquid and I fall backward.  He grabs my waist, pulling me toward him and we fall.  I open my eyes, breathing hard.  I’m laying on top of him.  “You’re really crazy, do you know that?”, I guess it wasn’t really a question since he didn’t wait for an answer.  “If you had gone into that mirror I wouldn’t have been able to help you!  No-one who goes in has ever come out again!”, he’s almost yelling now, worry and fear clear in his eyes.  “I’m sorry, I didn’t know.”, I whisper.  I roll off of him, get up and stare at the mirror.  Now that I really look at the mirror, I realize that there is something ominous, evil about the mirror.  I turn to leave, turning back once to look at the mysterious stranger, then head for the front door.  As soon as I close the door behind me, I descend the stairs and break into a run.  I want to get as far away from that house and the mirror as possible.

So, what do you guys think?  Does this sound like a good idea for a novel?  Would you want to read this based on the idea above?  Hope to hear what all of you think.

Thank you for taking the time to read this.

Love Always,
C

Author:

Creativity is my passion, and I have been told that my soul is old, and my body young... Dunno if that is true, but... Anyhoe, gonna start with book reviews, and hauls of the new books I acquire. Maybe if I am better with this blogging thing, I'll expand...

8 thoughts on “My idea for a Novel – What do you think?

  1. Cool idea! It sounds pretty spooky. I love a good horror or supernatural story. 🙂 My first novel is about magic and withes and all sorts of supernatural creatures. It’s finished but I’m thinking about re-doing parts of my story. I didn’t know you’re a writer. That’s so great. We can chat about writing related things. 🙂

    Like

      1. I have two novels written so far and ideas for 4 more, but I’ve had terrible writers block. I started working on my first novel two years ago, and I recently decided after it was formatted and edited professionally to change it around and make it and adult fantasy instead of YA. My second novel is a NA romance that a few publishers had requested, but I haven’t finished my edits and the writer’s block isn’t helping. I love when bloggers post their own writing. I can’t wait to read more. I shared a short story I made up once, but creative writing doesn’t seem to do so well on book blogs, so I decided to stick with books and keep my writing to myself. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’d like to post some of my own writing maybe once a month, as a soundboard, to see what people like to read. I am a professional procrastinator and certainly that is why I have been sitting on 3 ideas, with little actual writing to show for it. I am now seriously working on my first idea. I hope yours gets published, would love to read it! ☺

        Like

Leave a Reply

