Posted in Books read

Frozen Prospects

Image result for frozen prospects

 

Book – Frozen Prospects
Author – Dean Murray
Series – The Guadel Chronicles
Published – Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
Genre – Young Adult, Fantasy, Magic, Fiction

Rating:
three-stars


Hey, everyone.  Done with this book. Yay!  This was one interesting read.  I had a hard time putting the book down, I needed to know how this end.  And I cannot wait to read book two.

Synopsis:

The invitation to join the secretive Guadel should have been the fulfillment of dreams Va’del didn’t even realize he had.  When his sponsors are killed in an ambush a short time later, he instead finds his probationary status revoked and becomes a pawn between various factions inside the Guadel ruling body.  Jain’s never known any life but that of a Guadel in training.  She’d thought herself reconciled to the idea of a loveless marriage for the good of her people but meeting Va’del changes everything.  Their growing attraction flies against hundreds of years of precedent, but as wide-spread attacks threaten their world, the Guadel have no choice but to use even Jain and Va’del in their fight for survival. 


Well, I enjoyed the read, the story was good and, although there were some obvious plot flow problems (slow-paced and a bit boring at times), this did not deter me from finishing the novel.  I want to see where this story is going…

The world-building took a bit longer than I would have liked.  The idea was there and the building was good – but there were some unnecessary ideas added that distract more than enhancing the plot.

The male protagonist, Va’del, is the typically broken soul and orphan who is put back together slowly throughout the novel.  This creates some sympathy for the boy and you’ll find yourself wanting him to succeed.

Image result for frozen prospects

There is a bit of a gap in the workings of the Guadel and Capital in general.  You do get some insight, but it’s not as clear as I would have liked.  The magic in this novel sounds very interesting.  I am fairly certain that there is a lot of the workings of magic that will still be introduced in the coming books, which intrigues me.

His first sponsor family’s death kinda brought the story to a halt, slowing the pace, and the pace continued for a while in this trend.  Then the pace picks up and abruptly ends, very anticlimactic…

The romance between Va’del and Jain is innocent and sweet to read.  Their complete trust in each other after just meeting is a bit odd, though.

There is a lot of potential to this story, a lot of potentials.  I will read book two because I need to know where this series will go and if there is more to the world and characters…


Hope I didn’t give anything away, and let me know if you have read this and what your thoughts are?

Love Always,
C

Author:

Creativity is my passion, and I have been told that my soul is old, and my body young... Dunno if that is true, but... Anyhoe, gonna start with book reviews, and hauls of the new books I acquire. Maybe if I am better with this blogging thing, I'll expand...

Leave a Reply

