Posted in Books read

Broken

Image result for broken dean murray

 

Book – Broken

Author – Dean Murray

Series – A Reflections Novel

Published – Fir’shan Publishing

Genre – Young Adult Paranormal Romance

Rating:

five-stars


Synopsis:

Adri Paige is too busy dealing with the emotional fallout from losing half of her family to deal with boys.  At least she thought so until the two most intriguing guys in her school take an interest in her.

Both boys are gorgeous and blessed with obscene amounts of money.  They should have the emotional depth of note cards, but instead, display undercurrents she doesn’t fully understand.  Rumors the pair destroys peoples’ livelihoods seems ludicrous until she gets caught in the crossfire and her family almost loses their home.  She’s increasingly unsure either boy is really human, and their rivalry is rapidly turning deadly.


So, when I picked up this book, I had this idea in my head of what it might be about, but I was so wrong.

For me, this book started out a bit slow-paced.  There were small hints thrown out in the first half of the novel and all I wanted was to know what is really going on.  These hints are what compelled me to continue reading, even late into the night to finally know what happens.

And I was so not disappointed!  The plot thickens halfway through, we get a glimpse into what is really going on, we yell at the book because we need to know more.  And then it ends – I want more. *sigh*

Adriana is the typical damsel in distress, however, she’s also strong-willed and will not be pushed around or felt sorry for.

Britney is the first one to get closer to her as a friend in this new school, but we realize quite soon that she does not really want to be her friend, and is only using Adri for her own gain.

Then there is Alec and Brandon, the opposing guys, who both seem to want Adri.  Here, all I’ll say is: everything is not what it seems – don’t let appearances fool you…  There is a power struggle between these two and their friends that seems to go beyond simple school rivalries.  There are small hints dropped, but from Adri’s point of view, you are somewhat in the dark and curiosity kept me up to find out why.

There is obviously a love triangle too – between Adri, Alec, and Brandon.  Feels typical at first.  Soon you’ll have no idea who is the good guy and who is the bad guy.

The ending kinda felt truly anti-climatic after the full-scale build up to this climax.  Something more needed to happen in my opinion, but also, this leaves you wanting more and the story continues in Torn – from Alec’s point of view…

Author:

Creativity is my passion, and I have been told that my soul is old, and my body young... Dunno if that is true, but... Anyhoe, gonna start with book reviews, and hauls of the new books I acquire. Maybe if I am better with this blogging thing, I'll expand...

2 thoughts on “Broken

Leave a Reply

