Posted in Books read

Nerve Damage

Book:       Nerve Damage
Author:   J.L. Myers
Genre:     Adult – Psychological Thriller, Horror


Synopsis:

A fatal car crash. The sole survivor. And the dark hooded stranger that wants her dead.

When a terrible accident—not accident—stole my parents’ lives, my whole perfect life changed. My memories are hazy, and there are scars on my wrists. I’ve been locked away for my own protection…until I prove my sanity, until I lie. There was no hooded figure on the road that day, no one standing over me as I lay paralyzed watching my parents burn.

I am Cassidy Lockheart…20-year-old orphan.

Determined to free my caged mind, I find myself far away on an unexpected trip to help return my forgotten past. The snow was part of my life before, but now it’s like a blank slate, until an avalanche changes everything. But I’m not alone. These other ‘lucky’ trip winners may not be the strangers they pretend to be. And my hooded attacker…I see him everywhere.

Is this real? Or delusion caused by head trauma?

Either way, I’m being watched. I can sense it. I can feel it. Someone is after me; maybe they’re after us all. The avalanche was no accident. It was staged to deliver us to this abandoned place. A place where the walls whisper dark secrets of a sinister past… a past no one can escape. Trapped, this snow won’t let up…it won’t let us leave. My lost memories hold clues, but they’re buried so deep, polluted and twisted in my every waking nightmare. What is real? I don’t have the answers. But I need them. Time is ticking and if I don’t figure this all out soon it will be too late.

The past is coming for us all…and it wants blood.

Warning – This book contains some graphic scenes that are only for an adult audience.


Rating:

four-stars


Review:

First off, this is not a book for teens at all. There are scenes depicted in this book that is graphic and can be terrifying for some readers. Bearing this in mind, the book was really worth the read. I was kept glued to my seat, wondering what will happen next.

Now, you need to ensure you keep up because there isn’t a single dull moment while reading this one. If you like books that test your ability to follow, then this is a definite must read. This can be seen as a murder mystery – you’ll be taking the journey through both the main victim and the murderer’s eyes. I couldn’t, at first, figure out who the murderer was at all. But it will become clear after a bit of investigating.

The writing was intense and strong. The more graphic scenes were well thought out and the author doesn’t dwell too long on these scenes, making them easier to read and digest.

The character growth, don’t know how to say it, was incredible. Not knowing for a large chunk of the book, who the ‘villain’ is – makes this all the more fun to read.

Love Always,
C

Author:

Creativity is my passion, and I have been told that my soul is old, and my body young... Dunno if that is true, but... Anyhoe, gonna start with book reviews, and hauls of the new books I acquire. Maybe if I am better with this blogging thing, I'll expand...

Leave a Reply

